First two days

So this is daily newspapers. Yowza.

Saint John Harbour

Yesterday was my first day of work. It was also the day of the Canadian federal election. It was also the day after Obama announced that Osama bin Laden had been killed and buried at sea. I arrived in the newsroom at 9:30am. I flopped limp-legged into my bed at 11:30 that night.

Apparently we’ll be expected to pitch and write an average of two 500-word stories each day. I’m fairly certain that first year university was the last time that I procrastinated SO horrifically that I did the entire story in one day (that is, contact all sources, complete research, interview all sources, write full story, etc). Now I’ll be doing that twice a day, five days a week.

They must be going easy on us while we get settled in because I’ve only written one story a day for these first two days and haven’t suffered any flack:p. I’m in the ‘province’ section which means I could theoretically be sent to the far corners of NB for stories, which is neat. I think that’s the section I would most like to be in anyway as it gives me the most opportunity to write science/medical stories.

The days have been relatively long, but it doesn’t really feel crazy long because you’re never sitting there with nothing to do. Let me elaborate; there is always something you should be doing.

Example: today I spent any time in between afternoon interviews calling random people in the phone book trying to find someone in the Saint John area who had received the census. In case you were wondering, I did in fact find two different people, and had wonderful interviews with each which were perfect for showing the opposing sides of the story. Alas the only thing they vehemently agreed on was that they didn’t want their names in the paper. sigh.

But bewildered prattle aside, I like it so far. It’s exciting. Perhaps not what I want to do for the rest of my life, but I’m predicting a good summer full of learning. Lots and lots of learning.

The uptown skyline

The Atlantic Ocean 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

