Summer round-up

For the first September in 19 years, I find myself not in a classroom. My internship is done, and after puttering around the east coast for a bit, I’ve just returned to Ottawa and am setting up temporary roost. But though the blackboard is gone, I daresay the learning has just begun. – -..Yeah, I’m gagging at that last sentence too.

With my all-access media pass at the Congress of Humanities and Social Sciences this summer. It made me feel shiny.

Now that I’ve emerged from the Saint John fog, equal parts sopping, sleep-deprived and invigorated, I can take the time to reflect on the experience. Here’s the bulleted breakdown:

  • Total articles written – 110
  • Total front pagers – 28
  • Total stories picked up by national newswire Postmedia – 3
  • Total days worked as photog – 6

After the daily rush of finding, researching and writing stories, I’m not sure how I’m going to feel in the coming days. Likely rather slothful. However, unemployment is not without its perks; my past roommate Brittany and I recently booked a four day trip to NYC, taking advantage of Porter’s 50%-off-flights sale.

I plan on freelancing in Ottawa for a bit, while I figure out what’s next on the horizon. It’s not that I’m not fond of Ottawa – I am – but like so many other 22 year olds freshly delivered from the womb of institutionalized education, I’m also eager to see what else is out there.
.
PS: I really really wish I had taken a picture of my desk before I cleaned it up on my last day. But to give you an idea, the following is basically its identical twin (plus a jillion post-its).
.
.
PPS: As an afterthought, if anyone wants to read some of my articles from the summer, you can find some of them here at sabrinadoyle.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Summer round-up

  1. Kelly says:

    tee hee heee
    as I recall your apartment during university day’s looked like this too

  2. Oh, hi stranger. I hear Toronto is a great place to live.

  3. Kevin says:

    Your hard work and effort at University allowed you to get a job in your trade. Now you have the practical experience, you can stay in the trade and pick and choose what you want and where you want to be. That’s quite an accomplishment for a 22 yrs. old. The world is your oyster.

  4. simplysab says:

    Haha, well thanks, but I’m definitely still a small fry :p. Still, I’m jazzed.

Leave a Reply

