Popularizing the Poles

As a fledgling writer, you’ve got to find nuggets of happiness where you can, and cling to them. This past week at the IPY conference in Montreal, the nuggets to which I clung came in the form of business cards. Remember pogs? These cards have become my pogs, and I have been hoarding them with as much pious zeal.

In the absence of Pulitzer prizes, wealth, or the confidence that can cost years to acquire, that piece of paper becomes a little rectangle of power. If you wanted to, you could pick up the phone and call this oh-so-impressive individual (you probably won’t) and effortlessly convince him or her to hire you (they probably won’t.) It represents a possibility.

But an influx of business cards to my collection was only one of the awesome factors at the polar conference. It also marked the beginning of my blogging for Canadian Geographic!

For my first entry, I looked at the research that enthusiastic McGill postgrad Sara Statham presented, about how climate change is affecting the impoverished neighbourhoods in Iqaluit, Nunavut. Read about it here: http://canadiangeographic.ca/blog/posting.asp?ID=538.

As a sidenote, I would ask that if you are going to leave a comment, please do it on the CanGeo blog, as opposed to this blog. (Then hopefully the editors will think me a much better writer than I actually am.)

For more information on Statham’s research, you can take a look at her website.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

